Saturday, 11 August, 2012

UTC Pre Council Seminar and Annual General Meeting

The UTC pre council seminar and Annual General Meeting was held on August 9 and 10, 2012. Members of the UTC council from all over India took part in the two day deliberations and election of the new executive commitee, which is the highest decision making body of the United Theological College. The UTC is governed by a council comprising members belonging to several churches in India.

From Left to Right: Rev. Dr. Evangeline Anderson Rajkumar, Rev. Dr. Dayam Joseph Prabhakar, Rt. Rev. Dr. Surya Prakash, Rev. Dr. Jones Muthunayagom and Rev. Dr. Joseph Muthuraj.
Rev. Jeyakumar, Executive Secretary, Rev. Dr. John Samuel Raj and Rt. Rev. Dr. Surya Prakash.
The proceedings started with worship on the first day and was followed by the pre council seminar with the theme "God of Life: Lead us to Justice and Peace". The meeting was chaired by the president of the UTC Council, The Rt. Rev. Dr. Surya Prakash, bishop of the Karimnagar CSI diocese. This year's seminar had four presentations. Rev. Dr. Dayam Joseph Prabhakar (Theology and Ethics), Rev. Dr. Jones Muthunayagom (Old Testament), Rev. Dr. Evangeline Anderson Rajkumar (Women's Studies) and Rev. Dr. Joseph Muthuraj (New Testament) made presentations on topics which reflected the theme.

Dr. Joseph George

The seminar was followed by the business meeting which looked at various aspects of college life. The curriculum revision report was presented by Dr. Joseph George. The second day had continued discussions on business to be transacted and the new president along with a new executive was elected. The new UTC council president is Most Rev. G. Devakadasham, the moderator of the Church of South India and bishop of the Kanyakumari CSI diocese.The principal and secretary thanked the members who attended.

No comments: